The bench

Two children once sat at a bench.

"Hello"

"Hello. I'm ___. Nice to meet you.

"I'm ___. Nice to meet you, too."

* * *

Then, many years later, two teenagers met at the same bench.

"Hi...do I know you?"

"I don't know. But I have a feeling that I know you."

* * *

The next year, they met again.

"You here again?"

"Seems so. You always here?"

"No, just once a year. You?"

"Same."

* * *

The year after that, ___ went to the bench, hoping.

"Hi"

"I hoped you'd be here."

"Then I'm happy I didn't disappoint you."

* * *

Year after year, both ___ and ___ went to the bench, and slowly, something started to grow.

"I missed you."

"Missed you, too."

"Promise you'll be here next year?"

"Always."

* * *

But, the next year, when ___ came to the now old bench, ___ wasn't there. So ___ waited.

"You're late."

"I'm sorry."

"It's okay. You look tired. Not sleeping well?"

"No, I'm fine."

"If you say so...Um, ___? T-there is something I want to tell you."

"What?"

"I...I-I lo-...No, forget it."

"Okay..."

* * *

When the next year came around, ___ didn't show up.

So ___ waited, like the last time.

But no one came.

"Maybe ___ couldn't make it this year."

* * *

___ came to the bench every year, and sat alone on the bench.

"___ promised me always, so I'll wait."

* * *

A long time went by, and the bench started to loose its paint and the iron rusted.

"That bench looks horribly lonely. Why don't you take a walk with me?"

"I'm sorry, but I can't. I'm waiting for someone."

"Are you sure?"

"I...don't know. Do I know you?

"I don't know. But I have the feeling that I know you."

* * *

And then the two went for a long walk, and on the crumbling bench, only the remnants of a long wait was left.


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0